Delaware Sees 30% Drop in Teen Crashes

October 21, 2010

A new study has found that crashes involving 16-year-olds in Delaware have dropped 30 percent since the graduated driver’s license law took effect in 1999.

The University of Delaware study attributes the drop to more parental supervision and night-driving restrictions. In 1998, 16-year-old drivers were involved in 1,001 crashes, but that figure fell steadily to 372 crashes in 2008.

Delaware’s graduated driver license requires teenagers to be 16 to get a drivers permit, instead of 15 years and 10 months. It also mandates six months of parental supervision, restricts night driving and the number of passengers teen drivers can have in a vehicle and prohibits cell phone use behind the wheel.

Topics Delaware

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.