5 More Massachusetts Counties Get Irene Disaster Aid

October 24, 2011

Gov. Deval Patrick says five more Massachusetts counties are being included in the federal disaster declaration after the remnants of Hurricane Irene hit the state in August.

The counties added are on Cape Cod, the islands and in southeastern Massachusetts: Barnstable, Bristol, Dukes, Norfolk and Plymouth.

The governor said the action makes assistance available to local communities, some private non-profits, and state agencies for recovery from the damaging winds and heavy rainfall. They can be reimbursed for 75 percent of eligible costs for repair or replacement of public infrastructure, as well as technical and advisory assistance, contracts and personnel overtime for emergency protection and debris removal.

Four counties in western Massachusetts already were declared eligible for similar federal assistance.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.