2 Virginia Localities Declared Primary Disaster Areas

February 22, 2012

Isle of Wight County and the city of Suffolk in Virginia have been declared as primary disaster areas because of damage caused by excessive heat, storms and excessive rainfall in 2011.

The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services said Tuesday that seven other localities have been declared as contiguous disaster areas. They are: James City, Southampton and Surry counties, and the cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, Newport News and Portsmouth.

The declarations issued by the U.S. Department of Agriculture make farmers in these localities eligible for federal aid.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.