Gov. Cuomo Requests Disaster Declaration for NYS After Mohawk River Flooding

July 2, 2013

New York Governor Andrew Cuomo on Monday formally requested that President Obama issue a major disaster declaration for the State of New York as a result of severe storms and major flooding that occurred on June 27 and 28.

Previously, Gov. Cuomo declared a state disaster emergency that included the counties of Broome, Chenango, Clinton, Essex, Delaware, Franklin, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, Otsego, Schoharie, St. Lawrence, Tioga, and Warren. More than 13,000 people were without power at the height of the storm, and one person was swept away by the flood waters and is presumed dead.

“Without the support authorized under the Stafford Act, the additional burdens from this event will further undermine our ability to recover from the unrelenting impacts of Winter Storm Nemo, Superstorm Sandy, Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee,” Gov. Cuomo wrote in his letter to President Obama. The letter can be found at the New York Governor’s Office website (a PDF file).

Topics New York Flood

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.