Navarro Sworn in as 37th Commissioner of the Virginia State Corporation Commission

January 8, 2021

Angela L. Navarro was sworn in January 5, 2021, as the 37th commissioner of the Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC).

Navarro was appointed by Governor Ralph S. Northam to complete the unexpired term of Mark C. Christie, who became a member of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission on January 4, 2021.

Prior to being appointed to the commission, Navarro served as deputy secretary of Commerce and Trade under Governor Northam, where she worked on housing, small business, economic development and energy policies.

She has also served as deputy secretary of Natural Resources for Governor Northam and Governor Terry McAuliffe. In that role, she advised each administration on land conservation, energy and environmental policies.

Before entering government service, Navarro practiced law with the Southern Environmental Law Center. She led the organization’s energy efficiency practice across a six-state southeastern region and was the organization’s lead attorney on energy matters in Virginia.

The other two SCC commissioners are Judith Williams Jagdmann, the current chair, and Jehmal T. Hudson, who was also appointed by the Governor and took office in July.

The Commissioners serve six-year terms. Both appointments are subject to confirmation by the Virginia General Assembly during its 2021 legislative session.

Established in 1902, the SCC’s authority encompasses utilities, insurance, state-chartered financial institutions, securities, retail franchising, railroad safety and underground utility damage prevention. The commission also serves as the commonwealth’s central filing office for all entities formed or registered under Virginia corporate law.

Source: Virginia State Corporation Commission

Topics Virginia

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.