Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility Board Appointments

April 10, 2008

The Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility (CCRIF) announced the appointment of Isaac Anthony and Dr. Warren Smith to its board. They will represent the interests of CARICOM (“Caribbean Community,” a business development organization – and the Caribbean Development Bank respectively.

Milo Pearson, Chairman of the CCRIF Board of Directors indicated the two appointments represented a “further step” in fulfilling the CCRIF’s mandate to “serve the natural catastrophe insurance interests of Caribbean governments and the people they represent.” He added that both men “are terrific additions to our board, who will no doubt make an invaluable contribution to” the CCRIF.

“Dr. Smith received regulatory approval in January 2008 and Mr. Anthony in April 2008 by the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority (CIMA),” the bulletin noted.

In addition to his new position as a member of the CCRIF board Anthony is the permanent secretary/director of finance in the Ministry of Finance in St. Lucia. He also holds the position of Registrar of Insurance with responsibility for supervising and regulating the Insurance Industry and the title of chairman and founding member of the Caribbean Public Finance Association (CAPFA). In addition he is a director on the boards of the Caribbean Development Bank and the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank.

Smith, who was appointed by the Caribbean Development Bank, has more than 30 years experience in Economics and Planning and a Ph.D. in Economics from Cornell University. He is the current director of finance and corporate planning at the Caribbean Development Bank. He formerly served at the National Investment Bank of Jamaica, Prudential Stockbrokers Limited, Life of Jamaica, LIAT and the Petroleum Corporation of Jamaica and as a consultant for the CARICOM Secretariat and the Government of Grenada.

Source: CCRIF –

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.