McGraw Elected as ICC Chairman; Mittal Vice-Chairman

April 22, 2013

The Paris-based International Chamber of Commerce announced the election of Harold McGraw III to become the ICC’s Chairman and Sunil Bharti Mittal to become Vice-Chairman, effective July first. The current ICC Chairman, Gerard Worms, will become ICC Honorary Chairman.

Harold (Terry) McGraw has been the Vice-Chairman of ICC since January 2011. He is also Chairman, President and CEO of The McGraw-Hill Companies, soon to be named McGraw Hill Financial, a major financial intelligence company, which operates Standard & Poor’s Ratings Services, S&P Dow Jones Indices, S&P Capital IQ, Platts and JD Power.

McGraw is also Chairman of the US Council for International Business and Chairman of the US President’s Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations. He was appointed by US President Barack Obama to the US-India CEO Forum in November 2009, and also serves on the boards of United Technologies and Phillips 66, and chairs the Emergency Committee for American Trade.

McGraw acknowledged the honor of becoming ICC Chairman, noting that it is a “world business organization comprising over 6 million companies and chambers of commerce in 130 countries. ICC is playing a crucial role in driving global economic growth and promoting trade and jobs. I look forward to working with Sunil and other distinguished members of ICC to advance this agenda and address the needs of the international business community.”

Sunil Bharti Mittal is the Founder, Chairman and Group CEO of India’s Bharti Enterprises and the Chairman of Bharti Airtel. Bharti Enterprises has interests in telecoms, retail, realty, financial services and agri-products. Bharti Airtel is the flagship company of Bharti Enterprises, which is among the leading global telecom companies with operations in India, South Asia and Africa. Bharti has joint ventures with several global companies, including Singtel, Wal-Mart, AXA and Del Monte.

Mittal said: “It is an honor to be chosen for the role of Vice-Chairman at ICC, a prestigious organization dedicated to spreading peace and prosperity through trade since 1919. I look forward to working with Terry in this capacity.”

In addition to these appointments, ICC also named five new members to the Executive Board: Esko Aho (Finland), Milos Barutciski (Canada), Frederico Curado (Brazil), Eduardo Eurnekian (Argentina), and Cherie Nursalim (Indonesia). They will also begin their terms on July first.

Source: International Chamber of Commerce

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.