Trial started this week for a man who said he should have been paid $10,000 after he hit a hole-in-one during a golf tournament.
Adam Fisher, who was 18 when he made the shot in 2003, filed a lawsuit against event’s sponsor, The Iowa FFA Foundation, claiming it withheld the $10,000 prize.
The prize was never paid because the tournament’s insurance policy didn’t cover the use of mulligans — a golf term for a do-over shot — tournament officials said.
Fisher, two friends and their FFA adviser each paid about $100 to enter the tournament at the Legacy Golf Course in Norwalk.
All four shanked their tee shots on the 196-yard par three fifth hole. So, Fisher decided to use one of his mulligans that his team had bought from tournament officials for $5.
The shot landed in the hole and Fisher claims he should receive the $10,000 prize.
FFA attorney Ed Skinner, of Altoona, said a hole-in-one scored using a mulligan is not a hole-in-one.
Roger Stone, Fisher’s lawyer, said tournament rules included nothing about mulligans being banned from the hole-in-one contest.
He said the sponsors claim that an insurance policy was incorporated into the contest, but an insurance policy was not listed on any sign or contract.
Copyright 2005 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.