Kansas Governor Signs ‘Crash Tax’ Bill

May 16, 2011

Kansas has joined Arizona and Utah as the third state this year to ban or place restrictions on local governments charging accident response fees.

Gov. Sam Brownback has signed House Bill 2119, which places restrictions on local governments levying a “crash tax”, a fee charged for emergency response services at the scene of a traffic accident. It prohibits charging an accident response service fee except in extraordinary circumstances involving events such as a technical rescue situation or a hazardous material spill, according to the Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCI).

PCI said there are now 13 states — Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee and Utah — that have passed laws or resolutions prohibiting or restricting municipalities from charging accident response fees.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.