Child Care Provider Liability Law Passes in Nebraska

March 29, 2013

Lawmakers have passed new insurance requirements for licensed child care providers in Nebraska.

Child care services would have to provide the Department of Health and Human Services with proof of liability coverage of at least $100,000 per occurrence, under a bill that passed March 28. The measure sailed through its third and final vote in the Legislature, 42-0.

The bill would require child care providers who are already licensed to provide written proof to the state within 30 days after the law goes into effect.

The bill was introduced by Sen. Steve Lathrop, of Omaha. It now will go to Gov. Dave Heineman.

The bill is LB105.

Topics Nebraska

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.