Gaspar Heads ACORD Board; Norman is Chair Elect

January 10, 2002

The Board of Directors of ACORD has confirmed Carl L. Gaspar, as the Chair and Marilyn Norman as Chair Elect for 2002.

“This is a huge honor and culminates a career-long interest in agency automation and involvement with ACORD”, said Gaspar. “It is an exciting time at ACORD. Together with this Board and ACORD’s members, we will work to solve basic workflow issues and strengthen our industry on both domestic and global playing fields, helping develop real world solutions for each line of business.”

Gaspar of Gaspar-Jones & Associates, Inc. has 30 years of industry experience, serving as an underwriting manager with SAFECO prior to forming Gaspar-Jones & Associates in 1975. He is also a founding member of the National Users of Agena Systems and served as its president in 1993, is a past chair of the National PIA Business & Technology Committee and is currently chair of the Industry Affairs Committee for the AMS Users’ Group. Prior to his position as chair, Gaspar was on ACORD’s Operations Committee.

Norman, senior vice president, Distribution Management, of Zurich U.S. previously served as chair of the ACORD Planning Committee. Her responsibilities at Zurich U.S. include managing the development of distribution strategies between the company’s multiple U.S. business units.

Jane Green, director of Operations Automation, Joe Max Green/Insurance Concepts; Ben Salzmann, president and CEO, ACUITY; and James Williams III, CIO, Royal and SunAlliance were re-elected as ACORD Directors.

New additions to the Board include Clem Booth, member of the Board of Management, Munich Re; John Carmody, assistant vice president, SAFECO; Ellen Clarke, managing director, Marsh; Benito Pagnanelli, Generali; and Jim Radcliffe, chief executive to Global Specialist, Willis.

The following is a complete listing of ACORD’s Board of Directors:

Carl Gaspar (Chair), National Association of Professional Insurance Agents; Marilyn Norman (Chair Elect), Zurich U.S; John Leonard (Immediate Past Chair), MEMIC; Dave Findley (Planning Committee Chair), Travelers Insurance; Peter Nance (Planning Committee Vice Chair), GeneralCologne Re; Chuck McCaig (Operations Committee Chair), Chubb & Son, Inc.; Ben Saltzmann (Operations Committee Vice Chair), ACUITY; Jane Green (Communications Committee Chair), Joe Max Green/Insurance Concepts; John Carmody (Communications Committee Vice Chair), SAFECO; Christopher Ball, Independent Insurance Agents of America; Michael Bergstein, Insurance Resource Brokerage Group, LLC; Lawrence G. Brandon, American Institute for CPCU; Ellen Clarke, Marsh; June Drewry, AON Group; Joseph Gauches, The Hartford Group; Barbara Koster, Prudential Insurance Company of America; Gregory A. Maciag, ACORD; Jeff McCart, McCart Insurance & Risk Management, Inc. Benito Pagnanelli, Generali; George C. Van Dusen III, National Assoc. of Independent Life Brokerage Agencies; James Williams, Royal SunAlliance.

Topics USA Agencies

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.