Arthur J. Gallagher Restructures Board of Directors

January 26, 2004

Arthur J. Gallagher announced its change to a predominantly independent board of directors. Gallagher’s board will now consist of six outside directors and two management directors, Robert E. Gallagher, chairman, and J. Patrick Gallagher, Jr., president and CEO.

The change in board composition is the latest in a series of governance initiatives Gallagher has undertaken to demonstrate its commitment to maintaining high standards of corporate governance. In 2003, the company formed an independent Nominating/Governance Committee to join with its already independent Audit and Compensation Committees. Gallagher also adopted a set of Corporate Governance Guidelines designed to codify this commitment.

Simultaneous with this board change, Gallagher announces the formation of an Executive Management Committee comprised of six of its senior executives. This committee will report to the CEO and work closely with the board in setting the company’s strategic direction.

Topics A.J. Gallagher

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.