State Insurance Commissioners Name 28 Consumer Liaisons

March 9, 2010

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) recently named 18 funded and 10 unfunded consumer liaison representatives for 2010. Seven of the funded consumer representatives participated in the program in 2009, while 11 are new to the NAIC program.

Established in 1992, the program promotes consumer interaction with the NAIC’s Members, the insurance industry and interested parties through the individuals’ dedication and commitment to serving the public interest.

“The program is an important component of the NAIC’s consumer protection initiatives,” said Jane L. Cline, NAIC president and West Virginia Insurance Commissioner. “We value the perspectives provided by the consumer liaison representatives in helping improve the insurance regulatory system for all policyholders.”

The following are the 2010 NAIC funded consumer liaison representatives:

  • Elizabeth Abbott, project director for Health Access
  • Amy Bach, executive director for United Policyholders
  • Deeia Beck, public counsel for the Office of Public Insurance Counsel/Texas
  • Brendan M. Bridgeland, director for The Center for Insurance Research
  • Bonnie Burns, training and policy specialist for California Health Advocates
  • Sabrina Corlett, director of Health Policy Programs for the National Partnership for Women and Families
  • Brenda J. Cude, professor at the University of Georgia
  • Joseph P. Ditré, executive director for the Consumers for Affordable Health Care
  • Timothy Stoltzfus Jost, professor at Washington and Lee University School of Law
  • Karrol Kitt, associate professor at The University of Texas at Austin
  • Peter Kochenburger, executive director of the Insurance Law Center, Assistant Clinical Professor of Law, University of Connecticut School of Law
  • Sonja L. Larkin-Thorne, consumer advocate
  • Kevin Lucia, assistant research professor at the Health Policy Institute, Georgetown University
  • Georgia Maheras, private market policy manager for Health Care for All
  • Stacey Pogue, senior policy analyst at the Center for Public Policy Priorities
  • Wendell B. Potter, senior fellow on health care at the Center for Media and Democracy
  • Daniel Schwarcz: associate professor of law at the University of Minnesota Law School
  • Barbara Yondorf, president of Yondorf & Associates, Colorado Consumer Health Initiative
  • * New NAIC funded consumer representative in 2010

In addition, the 2010 unfunded consumer representatives are:

  • Steven A. Alexander, property and casualty actuary, Insurance Consumer Advocate, State of Florida
  • Kimberly Calder, director of insurance initiatives for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society
  • Stephen Finan, senior director of policy for the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network
  • Evelyn Decalos Gay (Langga), director for the Elder Rights Project, Georgia Legal Services
  • Howard Goldblatt, director of government affairs for the Coalition Against Insurance Fraud
  • Bonita A. Kallestad, attorney at law for the Mid-Minnesota Legal Assistance, Western Minnesota Legal Services
  • Lynn Quincy, senior policy analyst for Consumers Union
  • Barbara Scott Rea, development director for the Equality State Policy Center
  • Mark Schoeberl, executive vice president for Advocacy for the American Heart Association
  • Naomi P. Senkeeto, associate director, policy and strategic alliances for the American Diabetes Association

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.