Oklahoma Governor Nominates 4 for Workers’ Compensation Court

April 16, 2012

Governor Mary Fallin has submitted four nominees for the Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Court: Margaret Bomhoff, Michael McGivern, Brad Taylor, and Carla Snipes. These are the first nominees submitted by Fallin for the Workers’ Compensation Court.

Fallin said the nominees collectively have more than 80 years of experience in the field of workers’ comp law. She encouraged the state Senate to confirm them quickly.

Bomhoff of Edmond currently works for the Fellers, Snider, Blankenship, Bailey and Tippens law firm in downtown Oklahoma City. She previously worked at both the McClure Law Office and the State Insurance Fund. Bomhoff defends employers and insurance carriers in claims filed at the Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Court. She was named the 2011 Workers’ Compensation Lawyer of the Year by the peer-reviewed publication Best Lawyers.

McGivern currently works for the Tulsa law firm Perrine, McGivern, Redemann, Berry & Taylor, PLLC. He has 20 years of experience in the field of workers compensation law, and was elected by his peers to serve as chairperson of the Oklahoma Bar Association Workers’ Compensation Section.

Taylor of Tulsa also currently works at the Tulsa law firm Perrine, McGivern, Redemann, Berry & Taylor, PLLC. Since 1994, Taylor has worked in the field of workers’ compensation law representing both workers and employers. He has given over 100 presentations on workers’ compensation law, and is also a published author on the subject.

Snipes currently works at The Vassar Law Firm in Oklahoma City. She is the previous owner of Legacy Estate Liquidation, LLC, and has also previously worked at the State Insurance Fund. Snipes has represented clients at more than 2,000 trials, primarily in workers’ compensation court.

Each nominee requires Senate confirmation, as a result of Senate Bill 878, which passed in 2011. If approved, the nominees will serve eight year terms.