LWCC Names Recipients of 2012 Stephen W. Cavanaugh Scholarship

December 5, 2012

Mark Abshire of Breaux Bridge, La., and Philip McMahon of Houma, La., have been named recipients of the 2012 Stephen W. Cavanaugh Scholarship, sponsored by Louisiana Workers’ Compensation Corporation (LWCC). Each will receive the $8,000 scholarship over a four-year period.

LWCC established the Stephen W. Cavanaugh Scholarship Fund in 2006 in honor of Cavanaugh’s leadership and lasting contributions to the insurance industry in Louisiana. He was LWCC’s chief executive officer from the company’s inception in 1992 until 2006, the year he died.

A 2012 honor graduate of Cecilia High School, Abshire was a member of the National Honor Society and the Beta Club. Abshire competed on the Cecilia High football and baseball teams, and he served as Student Council president in 2010 and 2011, and vice president in 2012. He is currently enrolled at Louisiana State University, where he plans to study general business.

A Vandebilt Catholic High School graduate, McMahon was a member of Future Leaders of America’s Gulf (F.L.A.G.) He served on the organization’s advisory board and hosted and produced a bimonthly segment giving nonpartisan youthful insight into Louisiana issues. He was a member of the National Honor Society and the Vandebilt Catholic varsity tennis and bowling teams, and is a recipient of the Bishop Maurice Schexnayder Award, the highest honor given to a Vandebilt student athlete. He is currently enrolled at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, where he plans to study Insurance and Risk Management.

The scholarship fund, administered by the Baton Rouge Area Foundation, provides financial assistance to deserving Louisiana students who are majoring in an insurance-related field at a Louisiana university, college, or community college. Applicants must submit academic transcripts, a statement about their career plans in the insurance industry, and a letter of recommendation from a teacher or professor.

The founding donors include LWCC; Aubrey T. Temple, Jr.; Community Foundation of Acadiana; Dwight Andrus Insurance Agency; Guy Carpenter & Company LLC; Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of Louisiana; Knox Insurance Group LLC; LUBA Casualty Insurance Company; Star Service Inc.; and Wright & Percy Insurance.

Source: LWCC

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More News
More News Features