Texas Auto Burglary/Theft Prevention Fee Rises

August 19, 2019

The Texas Department of Insurance says recently passed legislation raises the fee insurers must pay to the state organization that works to prevent automobile burglaries and thefts.

A new law also changes Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority (ABTPA) to Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority (MVCPA).

House Bill 2048 increases the fee from $2 to $4 per motor vehicle each year, effective for insurance policies issued, delivered, or renewed on or after Sept. 1, 2019. TDI’s rule allows — but does not require — insurers to recoup all or part of that fee from policyholders. If an insurer passes on any of the fee to policyholders, the carrier must submit a rate and rule filing to TDI. The filing should include the manual page or fee schedule showing the revised name and amount of the fee. If the only changes are the name and the amount of the fee, the insurer is not required to provide supporting information and rate filing exhibits.

Senate Bill 604 changes the name of the ABTPA to the MVCPA. It also moves the statutory language for the ABTPA to the Transportation Code.

Source: TDI

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.