People Moves: Alliant Adds Rose in Dallas; IIAT Honors Gavin, Tatum, Vasquez, Schreiber

By | July 21, 2021

Longtime energy and trade credit expert Jay Rose joined Alliant as senior vice president in the company’s Alliant Underwriting Solutions (AUS) division. He is based in Dallas.

Rose will build a premier team with targeted industry expertise and a depth of underwriting capabilities to expand the division’s MGA capabilities within the power and energy sector. AUS is among the nation’s top 10 MGAs, generating in excess of $1.6 billion in annual gross written premium.

Rose joins Alliant with a depth of capabilities creating unique liquidity solutions for transactions involving the buying, selling, and movement of critical energy commodities: a highly stable and predictable component of the supply chain. His experience includes launching a dedicated energy industry practice within the trade credit community.

Prior to joining Alliant, Rose was managing director within the energy practice of one of the world’s largest providers of trade credit insurance.


The Independent Insurance Agents of Texas (IIAT) honored long-time IIAT employee, insurance expert and instructor, Jim Gavin, with the Paige Eiland Political Action Award, at its IIAT’s Annual Awards Ceremony and Business Meeting in June 2021.

The Paige Eiland Award recognizes an agent whose political involvement has had a great impact on the independent insurance agency system. The award has only been presented six times since its inception 16 years ago. It was last presented in 2018 to Bob Shepard of Harlingen. The award is named for Paige Eiland of Stanton, Texas, a longtime IIAT member who worked tirelessly on behalf of agents in both state and federal political arenas.

Gavin started in 1973 with Chubb Insurance Group as a personal lines underwriter. He later joined the Continental Insurance Group and in 1982, Jim entered the agency business in Wichita Falls as a partner at Allred Thompson Mason Daugherty, where he stayed for 20 years before joining IIAT. Gavin’s encyclopedic knowledge of insurance and his keen insights into coverage issues made him a go-to, reliable insurance expert for staff and IIAT members. Countless insurance agents have benefitted from the classes and webinars Gavin has taught over the years.

The association also named Michael Tatum of Sanford & Tatum in Lubbock the IIAT André P. Juneau ELITExan of the Year.

The André P. Juneau ELITExan of the Year award is given annually to a young insurance professional in Texas who has achieved success through hard work, community engagement and industry participation in a manner that is considered exceptional for a person of his or her age.

Tatum is a partner and chairman of the board at Sanford & Tatum, an Insurance Heritage Risk Management Company, in Lubbock. His primary focus in the agency is the medical industry, including medical professional liability. He is also an expert on business insurance.

Since joining Sanford & Tatum, he has earned his Certified Insurance Counselor and Certified Risk Manager designations.

Nora Vasquez of Weatherby-Eisenrich, in Andrews, was named IIAT’s 2021 Account Manager of the Year.

The Account Manager of the Year award is given annually to an account manager in Texas who exemplifies outstanding leadership and service to the independent agency system and to the public at large.

As an account executive with a 30-year history at Weatherby-Eisenrich, Vasquez has a reputation for caring and competence. She’s supported clients through the many ups and downs of the oil and gas industry, and when the pandemic started, Nora went out of her way to help clients navigate uncertainty with timely service and creative solutions.

Ed Schreiber, Houston region president of BXS Insurance, was honored with IIAT’s 2021 Drex Foreman Award. Named after Drex Foreman, who served as the chief executive director of IIAT for more than 30 years, the Drex Foreman Award is the highest honor IIAT bestows annually to an individual who has contributed greatly to the independent agency system.

Schreiber is currently the Houston region president of BXS Insurance and was the president of GEM Insurance of Houston prior to GEM Insurance joining with BXS Insurance in 2013. He is a past president of the Independent Insurance Agencies of Houston (IIAH) and a past board member of the Independent Insurance Agents of Texas (IIAT). He is also the immediate past chairman of the IIAT Services Corporation. He also served on the membership committee of the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (IIABA).

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.