Chaney Sworn-In for Second Term as Mississippi Insurance Commissioner

January 6, 2012

Mississippi inaugurated seven of its eight statewide elected officials on Thursday — everyone except the new governor.

The swearing-in ceremony in the House chamber included Tate Reeves as lieutenant governor, Jim Hood as attorney general, Delbert Hosemann as secretary of state, Lynn Fitch as treasurer, Stacey Pickering as auditor, Cindy Hyde-Smith as agriculture commissioner and Mike Chaney as insurance commissioner.

Hood is starting his third term and is the only Democrat. The others are Republicans.

Reeves, Fitch and Hyde-Smith are new to their jobs.

Hosemann, Pickering and Chaney are beginning their second terms.

Republican Gov.-elect Phil Bryant takes his oath of office next Tuesday.

Topics Mississippi

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.