North Carolina Legislators Approve Tougher Drunken-Driving Bills

March 12, 2015

North Carolina lawmakers want a tougher no-alcohol policy imposed upon more motorists permitted to drive again following an impaired-driving conviction.

The House voted this week for a measure saying drivers who get their licenses restored can’t drive with any alcohol in their blood. It also would apply to more drivers who get devices on their vehicles preventing them from starting a car until they pass a blood-alcohol breath test. The current thresholds are .04 percent.

Another bill the House approved would reduce the number of prior drunken-driving convictions within the past 10 years before a person faces a severe felony and at least one year in jail. The number of previous convictions before a habitual DWI would fall from three to two.

The bills now head to the Senate.

Topics Personal Auto North Carolina

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.