39 Alabama Counties Impacted by Christmas Storms to Receive Aid

January 20, 2016

Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley has requested federal disaster assistance for counties impacted by the severe storms last month.

Bentley announced Jan. 14 that 39 counties will receive assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency. The governor declared a state of emergency amid widespread flash flooding that followed several days of intense weather throughout the Southeast beginning Dec. 24.

Counties to receive assistance include Autauga, Barbour, Blount, Bullock, Butler, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Coffee, Colbert, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, DeKalb, Elmore, Escambia, Fayette, Franklin, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Lamar, Lawrence, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Pike, Perry, Russell, St Clair, Walker and Winston.

The Public Assistance Grant Program provides assistance for debris removal and emergency protective measures. It also includes repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities and infrastructure.

Topics Windstorm Alabama

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.