Mississippi will regulate Uber, Lyft and other ride-hailing services on a statewide basis.
Gov. Phil Bryant signed House Bill 1381 Monday, which puts the state Insurance Department in charge of overseeing the services. Cities have traditionally regulated taxi services in Mississippi.
The law requires each company to pay a $5,000 yearly license fee.
It requires the driver or the company to have insurance covering the transportation of passengers. While carrying passengers, the driver would have to be insured for up to $1 million.
The measure also requires that companies conduct criminal background checks on drivers, and that it display a driver’s picture and license plate number online before a passenger is picked up.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.