Utah comes out on top of InsuarnceQuote.com’s list of the 10 toughest states for texting while driving.
InsuranceQuotes.com reviewed laws of the 35 states that ban text messaging for all drivers. The review took into account fines and penalties for texting-while-driving offenders.
In Utah, the fine for texting while driving is as high as $750, the second highest fine in the country. But it’s the rest of the state’s anti-texting law that earns Utah the distinction as the toughest state for texting, according to the report.
If you get into an accident while texting and driving in Utah, you face serious jail time up to 15 years and up to a $10,000 fine. If there’s a fatality, the charge could be a third-degree felony and more jail time and fines.
Here are the nine other states that make the InsuranceQuotes.com list of the toughest states for texting-while-driving offenders:
5. New York.
7. North Dakota.
InsuranceQuotes.com is part of Bankrate Insurance. Other Bankrate Insurance companies include NetQuote.com and InsureMe.com.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.