Nearly six in 10 parents go beyond the rules imposed by Oregon’s graduated licensing laws, and 52 percent think the state should enforce stricter consequences for those who violate teen-driving laws, a poll from PEMCO Insurance shows.
In Oregon, graduated licensing laws restrict 16- and 17-year-old drivers from all communication on mobile devices while driving. The laws also set a driving curfew, limit the number of passengers teens may transport, and require a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving time.
According to the poll, 86 percent say they enforce the state’s graduated licensing laws, and 58 percent say they go beyond the minimum requirements and set additional rules for their teen drivers.
Half of parents say they enforce limits on the distances their teens can drive, two-thirds put limitations on driving in bad weather conditions and 52 percent of all drivers think that the state should escalate the consequences from a secondary to a primary offense for teen drivers who violate the laws, the poll shows.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that 5,474 people died in crashes that involved distracted driving in 2009 in the U.S., and of teen drivers involved in fatal collisions 16 percent were reportedly distracted while behind the wheel.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.