Nevada Highway Patrol issued 12k tickets for Cellphones

January 4, 2013

The Nevada Highway Patrol says it handed out nearly 12,000 tickets last year to people using cell phones while driving.

Officials say most were getting their first phone ticket, while 30 were cited for their second offense and 25 were getting their third ticket.

A state law passed in 2011 bans cell phone use while driving and covers texting or reading from a cell phone, even while stopped in traffic or at a light.

The ban carries a $112 fine for the first ticket, with a second offense costing $192, and a third or subsequent violation costing $352. Repeat offenders also face demerits on their driving record.

Troopers recommend drivers use a hands-free device or refrain from using their phones altogether while driving.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.