Parts of Nevada, Utah, Idaho Declared Drought Disaster

April 16, 2015

The U.S. Agriculture Department has declared two northeast Nevada counties natural disaster areas due to the lingering drought with an emergency order that also makes emergency low-interest loans available to farmers, ranchers and businesses in parts of neighboring Idaho and Utah.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack on Tuesday declared Nevada’s Elko and Eureka counties primary natural disaster areas. The disaster assistance that becomes available there also applies to contiguous counties in Utah – Box Elder and Tooele – and in Idaho’s Cassia, Owyhee and Twin Falls counties.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months to apply to the USDA’s Farm Service Agency for the low-interest loans to help cover part of their actual losses resulting from drought.

Topics Agribusiness Nevada Utah

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.