19 Montana Counties Get Drought Disaster Declaration

September 8, 2015

Four more Montana counties have been designated as primary natural disaster areas due to crop losses caused by drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture added Jefferson, Madison, Teton and Toole counties, bringing to 19 the total number of Montana counties declared natural disaster areas.

On July 15, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Thomas Vilsack designated Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Flathead, Glacier, Granite, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Pondera, Powell, Ravalli, Sanders and Silver Bow counties as primary natural disaster areas.

drought_cornThe Great Falls Tribune reported that the federal disaster designation opens the door for qualified farmers and ranchers to obtain emergency loans through the Farm Service Agency. Farmers and ranchers in 11 additional contiguous counties may also be eligible for emergency loans.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.