4 Alabama Counties Declared Federal Disaster from Hurricane Michael

December 3, 2018

Four south Alabama counties were declared a disaster area because of damage from Hurricane Michael in October.

The governor’s office said in November that President Donald Trump issued a disaster declaration that includes Geneva, Henry, Houston and Mobile counties under the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance Program.

The move means the federal government can reimburse local and state agencies, electrical cooperatives and some nonprofit groups for hurricane-related expenses.

A statement last month from Gov. Kay Ivey says the assistance will help small communities in the Wiregrass area that had to work hard to restore electrical service and remove storm debris.

Michael knocked down trees and powerlines in southeastern Alabama after it came ashore near Panama City, Fla., on Oct. 10.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.

From This Issue

Insurance Journal West December 3, 2018
December 3, 2018
Insurance Journal West Magazine

The Sharing Economy; Directory: Programs, Volume II