Erie Indemnity Elects Directors and Officers

April 30, 2003

Erie Indemnity Company announced that the shareholders at their annual meeting had elected as directors all of the nominees recommended by the nominating committee, expanding the board from 12 to 15 members.

It listed the persons elected to the board as follows:
— Kaj Ahlmann, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Inreon, internet reinsurance venture
— John T. Baily, Retired President, Swiss Re Capital Partners
— Samuel P. Black III, President, Treasurer and Secretary of Samuel P. Black & Associates, Inc.
— J. Ralph Borneman Jr., President and Chief Executive Officer of Body- Borneman Associates, Inc.
— Wilson C. Cooney, Chairman, ForcesGroup, Ltd., insurance and financial services group
— Patricia Garrison-Corbin, Founder, President and Chief Executive Officer of P.G. Corbin & Company Inc.
— John R. Graham, Executive-in-Residence and Professor of Finance, College of Business Administration, Kansas State University
— Susan Hirt Hagen, Co-trustee of H.O. Hirt Trusts
— C. Scott Hartz, Consultant, Hartz Group, IT and technology consultant
— F. William Hirt, Co-trustee of H.O. Hirt Trusts; Chairman of the Board of Erie Indemnity Company, Erie Family Life Insurance Company and Erie Insurance Company
— Samuel P. Katz, Former Chief Executive Officer, Greater Philadelphia First; President, Entersport Capital Advisors, Inc.; Managing Partner, Wynnefield Capital Advisors, Inc.
— Claude C. Lilly III, Dean, Belk College of Business Administration, University of North Carolina — Jeffrey A. Ludrof, President and Chief Executive Officer of Erie Indemnity Company, Erie Family Life Insurance Company and Erie Insurance Company
— Jan R. Van Gorder, Senior Executive Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel of Erie Indemnity Company, Erie Family Life Insurance Company and Erie Insurance Company
— Robert C. Wilburn, President and Chief Executive Officer, Gettysburg National Battlefield Museum Foundation; Distinguished Service Professor, Carnegie Mellon University

At the Board of Directors meeting immediately following the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting, the Board also re-elected the current executive management team of the Erie Insurance Group and re-elected F. William Hirt as chairman of the Board.

The executive officers re-elected are:
— John J. Brinling Jr., CPCU, Executive Vice President, Erie Family Life
Insurance Company
— Philip A. Garcia, CPA, FLMI, ACS, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
— Michael Krahe, Ph.D., Executive Vice President of Human Development and Leadership
— Jeffrey A. Ludrof, CPCU, AIC, CIC, LUTCF, President and CEO
— Thomas B. Morgan, AIS, CIC, Executive Vice President, Insurance
— Jan R. Van Gorder, Esq., Senior Executive Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel
— Douglas F. Ziegler, Senior Vice President, Treasurer and Chief
Investment Officer

In his remarks to shareholders, Bill Hirt acknowledged the fine work of directors, employees and agents, commending them on a successful year and recognizing the significant challenges the company and industry faced in 2002. He also commented on the company’s focus on underwriting profitability and expressed great confidence in employees’ and agents’ abilities to accomplish the desired goals.

Jeffrey A. Ludrof, president and CEO, echoed Hirt’s remarks, expressing absolute assurance in ERIE’s determination. “Our success in 2002 stems from the fundamental values, objectives and purpose that have guided our company for nearly eight decades,” he stated. “Industry experts repeatedly note the advantage of companies like ours, companies that embrace a disciplined underwriting philosophy and a consistent pricing strategy. Our production growth in 2002 certainly supports that premise, and the success of our growth strategies puts us in a position to focus more fully on improved underwriting profitability.”

Topics Carriers Directors Officers

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.