The New York City Department of Consumer Affairs has begun accepting license applications from pedicab business owners. The deadline to submit applications is Nov. 20.
Pedicab operators must obtain driver licenses that are valid under New York State law and submit a certificate of insurance to be licensed under the new rules.
Pedicabs are tricycle-like vehicles with passenger seats that are powered by humans. They are subject to the same traffic rules as bicycles, but in June the city decided to further regulate them.
The license fee is $110, which includes a registration plate for one pedicab. There is a $60 fee for each additional pedicab registration plates. There are also additional fees for inspections.
Each pedicab business applicant must also present its registered pedicabs to the department for safety inspections each year.
The safety requirements include seating for no more than three passengers and seat belts for all passengers.
Topics New York
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.