Connecticut Increases Motor Vehicle Fees

July 5, 2011

Cash-strapped Connecticut has increased a number of fees and charges at its Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Among the fees are an $8 increase — up to $72 — for renewing licenses, a $25 fee for failing to renew on time, and similar increases for registration renewals and other transactions.

In addition, new regulations mean bigger penalties for commercial drivers who text while behind the wheel.

The changes, which went into effect July 1 come as part of a budget balancing measure.

A complete list of new fees and other changes is available from the DMV.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.