A bill that aims to further combat distracted driving in Connecticut now awaits Gov. Dannel P. Malloy’s signature.
Connecticut’s state Senate on Wednesday, by a vote of 26-9, passed a wide-ranging transportation bill that includes language adding distracted driving to the list of moving violations that would be made available to insurance companies. Currently, if someone disobeys the state’s distracted driving law, they pay a fine and the insurer doesn’t know about it.
The bill also increases fines and creates a task force to study distracted driving prevention.
Sen. Toni Boucher of Wilton opposed the legislation because it also increases various fees. For instance, it increases the driver’s license renewal fee from $65 to $72. Two-year licenses for people 65 years old or older climb from $22 to $24.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.