Obama Signs Disaster Declaration for 9 N.Y. Counties in Wake of Nov. Storm

December 24, 2014

President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster in upstate New York. That means Washington will chip in to help state, local and tribal governments pay to clean up and rebuild after a blockbuster storm buried the region under more than 7 feet of snow last month.

New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo said the storm had cost more than $46 million, well in excess of the government’s $27.3 million threshold for federal emergency aid.

More than 370 structures suffered roof damage from the snow; 38 structures were destroyed.

The storm is blamed for 14 deaths.

Federal funding will now be available for the counties of Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Jefferson, Lewis, Orleans, St. Lawrence, and Wyoming.

Obama signed the disaster declaration Monday during his vacation in Hawaii.

Related Articles:
A.M. Best: Buffalo Snowstorm Impacts Regional Property Writers
Snowstorm Recovery Efforts Continue in Buffalo, N.Y.
Buffalo, N.Y.-Area Residents Urged to Prepare for Flooding

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.