Travelers, Michigan Ins. Recipients of AMS Users’ Group Quantum Award

March 19, 2003

The winners of the first-ever Quantum Award were announced at the AMS Users’ Group 27th Annual National Conference on March 15. Travelers Property Casualty and Michigan Insurance Company tied for the award, which recognizes insurance companies who develop technology that is a “quantum leap” ahead of the rest.

“Michigan Insurance was nominated because of their personal lines system,” Pam Parry, president of AMS Users’ Group, said. “A truly interactive policy processing system with one step entry. It eliminates re-keying and totally automates personal lines new business.”

“Travelers was nominated for giving agents the means to obtain real-time quote and issue for their BOP product from within an AMS management system,” Parry said. “Within 45 seconds of submitting the request, the agent receives a bindable premium, a worksheet, an umbrella quote and a proposal.”

In addition, Loren Parsons, executive vice president of the AMS Group, was awarded a Presidential Citation, in honor of his work solidifying the relationship between AMS Services Inc. and AMS Users Group. Parry, who presented the award to Parsons, chose the award recipient.

“When he came to AMS in 1999, the company had some issues with product stability and customer satisfaction,” Parry said at a luncheon/business meeting March 15. “Today, the products are stable, the service has vastly improved and the whole atmosphere has changed for the better. Everybody in this room is benefiting from those changes.”

“My success at AMS is largely a reflection of all the fine employees in AMS,” Parsons said. “I didn’t do this alone. What I did was allow the employees of AMS to turn the company around and get it into the position that it’s in today.”

Bill Travaille, president of Stockton, Calif.-based Travaille Insurance, was presented with the Louie E. Woodbury, Jr. Leadership Award. The award is reserved for outstanding leaders who have made a visible and positive impact on AMS Users’ Groups and its members.

“He’s been a tireless champion for the causes of AMS Users’ Group,” Bev Coats, past president of AMS Users’ Group, said. “He is not only a leader in our organization, but within the industry, often sharing that voice of reason with ACORD, the Big I, and local associations.”

Jean Murphey, personal lines manager of Coast Insurance Services in Florence, Ore., picked up the James M. Gibson Service Award. The award is given to the Users’ Group volunteer who demonstrates excellence service in Users’ Group goal of “users helping users.”

“It is her efforts that have developed the only Prime Users’ Group in the Northwest,” Susanne Buyck, executive director of AMS Users’ Group, said. “She has made a big difference in the AMS Users’ Group and in the lives of the users who know her.”

Finally, the AMS Users’ Group inducted their 2003 Board of Directors. Roy Riley of Peel & Holland Financial Group in Benton, Ky., was elected president. Martha Williamson of ONB Insurance Group in Danville, Ill., was elected president-elect. Jerry Fox of James M. King & Assoc. in Bloomington, Minn. was elected vice president. Kevin Wheeler of Cardinal Insurance Services in Indianapolis, Ind., was elected treasurer. Kay Barrett of the IMA Financial Group in Wichita, Kan. was elected member-at-large. Chuck Lowe of Duxbury & Ray Insurance in Smithfield, R.I., was elected member-at-large. Immediate past president is Pam Parry of GPB Risk Solutions in Tucson, Ariz.

James Armitage, Sandra Dunn, John Fortman, Mike Gray, Susan Hendricks, Gray Nester, Lorraine Plezia, Mike Randles, Rob Schlegel, Carl Schlotman, Mark Thayer, Frank Van Leeuwen, and Gary Williams were elected to serve on the Board of Directors.

Topics Michigan

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.