National Association of Insurance Commissioners Elects New Officers

December 8, 2009

Members of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) have elected their 2010 officers at their Winter National Meeting in San Francisco. The new officers are: President: West Virginia Insurance Commissioner Jane Cline; President-Elect: Iowa Insurance Commissioner Susan Voss; Vice President: Florida Insurance Commissioner Kevin McCarty; and Secretary-Treasurer: Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner Kim Holland. The newly elected officers will assume their duties following the completion of the Winter National Meeting.

Cline was appointed West Virginia Insurance Commissioner in 2001. Prior to her appointment as commissioner, she operated a government consulting firm, Jane L. Cline & Associates. Before that, she served as commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and as deputy commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Highways.

Voss was appointed Iowa Insurance Commissioner in 2005. Prior to her appointment as commissioner, she served as Iowa’s first deputy commissioner. She has held a number of different positions with state government, including assistant attorney general for the Iowa Department of Transportation, legal counsel to the state ombudsman, counsel to the Iowa Legislature in the area of taxation and economic development, and tax policy attorney for the Iowa Department of Revenue and Finance.

McCarty is the Commissioner of the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation. He became Florida’s first appointed insurance commissioner in January 2003. He is responsible for Florida’s insurance market, with oversight of company solvency, policy forms and rates, market investigations and new insurance business. McCarty began his career in public service in 1988, becoming an expert in workers’ compensation issues with the Florida Department of Labor and Employment Security.

Holland became the first woman to be elected Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner in 2006. A business woman and active civic volunteer before becoming insurance commissioner, Holland is a former board member of the Oklahoma Health Care Authority and the Oklahoma State Employees Benefits Council. Commissioner Holland is the recipient of the statewide 2007 Public Service Champion of Health, which recognizes her contributions to reducing uninsured in our state.

NAIC members also elected 2010 zone officers. Midwestern Zone officers are: Michael McRaith – Chair, Illinois Director of Insurance; Merle Scheiber – Vice Chair, South Dakota Insurance Director; and Mary Jo Hudson – Secretary, Ohio Insurance Director.

Northeastern Zone officers are: Thomas Sullivan – Chair, Connecticut Insurance Commissioner; Joel Ario – Vice Chair, Pennsylvania Insurance Commissioner; and Paulette Thabault – Secretary, Vermont Insurance Commissioner.

Southeastern Zone officers are: Scott Richardson – Chair, South Carolina Insurance Director; Leslie Newman – Vice Chair, Tennessee Insurance Commissioner; and Jim Donelon – Secretary, Louisiana Insurance Commissioner.

Western Zone officers are: Linda Hall – Chair, Alaska Insurance Director; Mo Chavez – Vice Chair, New Mexico Insurance Commissioner and Christina Urias – Secretary, Arizona Insurance Director.

Source: NAIC

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.