New Hampshire’s Minkler New Chairman of Big ‘I’

September 30, 2013

New Hampshire independent agent Thomas J. Minkler has been inaugurated as the new chairman of the Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America (IIABA or the Big “I”), with David Walker as chairman-elect, Randy Lanoix as vice chairman and Joseph Leahy as an at-large executive committee member.

The new officers begin their terms at the conclusion of the board meeting held in conjunction with the Big “I” Fall Leadership Conference this weekend in San Antonio, Texas.

Minkler is president of the Clark-Mortenson Agency in Keene, N.H. Minkler is past chairman of the New Hampshire Association of Insurance Agents, past New Hampshire director on the Big “I” national board and past president of the Massachusetts Association of Insurance Agents.

At the national association level, Minkler has championed the Consumer Agent Portal (CAP) project since 2009 and is past chairman of the Big “I” Government Affairs Committee. He has also served on various other Big “I” committees including the Professional Liability Committee, the Agents Advocacy Fund, the IIAA Agency Administrative Services board of directors, and the Captive Study Committee. He is a frequent speaker for the insurance industry and has provided testimony before the U.S Congress on behalf of the Big “I” on a variety of topics. Minkler is active in his community and has served on numerous boards for charitable organizations and civic groups.

Walker is president of Hartland Insurance Agency in Hartland, Mich. He began his insurance career in 1979, joined Hartland Insurance Agency as a producer and rose through its ranks. Walker has served on the Michigan Association of Insurance Agents (MAIA) Young Agents Council, Education Committee, Legislative Affairs Committee and Agency-Company Relations Committee. Additionally, he has served on the board of directors and as president of MAIA and the Genesee County Independent Agents.

At the national level, Walker has served on the boards of the Big “I”, CAP and Big “I” Advantage, and as a member of the Big “I” Professional Liability Committee. Walker has received numerous MAIA awards, including the W.O. Hilderbrand Award in 2006 for his lifetime service and achievement in the insurance industry and MAIA. Walker is active in his community, having served on the board of directors for the Hartland Area Chamber of Commerce and as a trustee and president of the Fenton Area Public Schools. Currently, he serves as Tyrone Township Trustee and on the board of the Michigan Basic Property Association. Walker is also a founding member of the Hartland Rotary.

Lanoix is president of Lanoix Insurance Agency in Lutcher and Brusly, La. Lanoix was president of the Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of Louisiana (IIABL) in 2001 and the Louisiana representative on the Big “I” national Board of Directors from January 2005 to September 2010. He is a recipient of the Lou Daniel award, which is the highest honor bestowed by the IIABL. Lanoix is also a past recipient of the “Mr. Chairman” award for his work as Louisiana’s legislative chairman and his work with the Louisiana state legislature. On the national level, Lanoix has served on the Professional Liability Committee, the Trusted Choice Board of Directors, numerous task forces, and two terms on the Government Affairs Committee, where he was chairman of State Government Affairs.

Joseph “Joe” P. Leahy is co-owner and founder of Leahy and Brown Insurance + Realty, Inc. in Springfield, Mass. He and his wife, Frances, started the agency in 1989. He previously served as chief of staff to Massachusetts State Sen. Martin T. Reilly (D-Springfield). At the state association level, Leahy was elected to the executive committee of the Massachusetts Association of Insurance Agents in 2001 and served as chairman in 2005 and Massachusetts director on the Big “I” national board from 2008 to 2013. At the national level, Leahy served on numerous Big ‘I” committees and task forces including the Government Affairs Committee, the Tax Task Force, and the InsurPac board of Trustees. Leahy also serves on the board for numerous other professional and civic organizations in Massachusetts.

The 2012-2013 Big “I” chairman, Bobby Bramlett, who will serve on the committee as immediate past chair for one year, is president & CEO of the Bramlett Agency in Ardmore, Okla.

Topics Agencies Louisiana Massachusetts Professional Liability

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.