Montana’s Lindeen Elected NAIC President

November 20, 2014

Members of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) have elected 2015 officers who will assume their duties on Jan. 1, 2015.

  • President: Montana State Auditor and Commissioner of Securities and Insurance Monica J. Lindeen
  • President-Elect: Pennsylvania Insurance Commissioner Michael F. Consedine
  • Vice President: Kentucky Insurance Commissioner Sharon P. Clark
  • Secretary-Treasurer: Wisconsin Insurance Commissioner Ted Nickel

Lindeen was elected Montana commissioner of Securities and Insurance and state auditor in 2008 and re-elected to a second term in November 2012. She was elected to NAIC leadership in 2014. As NAIC president, she chairs the NAIC Executive Committee, Government Relations Leadership Council, NAIC/State Government Liaison Committee, International Insurance Relations Leadership Group.

North Dakota Insurance Commissioner Adam Hamm has been serving as 2014 president.

This summer, the NAIC said it would hire an outside consultant to conduct a review of a review of its governance, decision-making practices, and organizational structure.

Consedine was appointed Pennsylvania insurance commissioner in January 2011. From 1995-1999, he served as department counsel for the Pennsylvania Insurance Department, where he represented the department in litigation proceedings and on transactional filings. From 1999 through January of 2011, Consedine practiced with the law firm of Saul Ewing LLP where he was a partner and vice-chair of the firm’s insurance group. Consedine is chair of the International Insurance Relations Committee, NAIC/Industry Liaison Committee and vice chair of the Health Care Reform Regulatory Alternatives Working Group. He serves on the Federal Advisory Committee on Insurance which advises the Federal Insurance Office on national and international insurance matters.

Clark, a veteran of Kentucky state government, was appointed commissioner of the Kentucky Department of Insurance (DOI) in July 2008 and was reappointed to the post in July 2012. Clark was the first director of the DOI’s Consumer Protection and Education Division, a position she held for five years. Clark serves as the chair of the Kentucky Health Benefit Exchange Advisory Board and is a member of the Kentucky Group Health Insurance Board. She serves as secretary-treasurer of the NAIC and a member of its Executive Committee. She is also a member of the NAIC’s Internal Administration (EX1) Subcommittee.

Nickel was appointed insurance commissioner for Wisconsin in January 2011. Prior to his appointment, Nickel worked nearly 18 years with Church Mutual Insurance Co. as director of Governmental and Regulatory Affairs. His background in insurance includes serving on the board of directors of the Wisconsin Insurance Security Fund. He was also a member of the Oklahoma Property Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association and a member of the Legal and Government Affairs Committee of the Property Casualty Insurance Association of America. He is the 2014 chair of the Midwest Zone, a member of the Executive Committee and the Governance Review Task Force, vice chair of the Health Insurance and Managed Care Committee, chair of the Contingent Deferred Annuities Working Group, chair of the Health Care Reform Regulatory Alternatives Working Group, and chair of the Mortgage Guaranty Insurance Working Group.


NAIC members also elected 2015 zone officers during the Fall National Meeting. The newly elected zone officers will assume their duties following the completion of the national meeting.

Northeastern Zone

  • Kenneth E. Kobylowski — Chair, New Jersey
  • Benjamin M. Lawsky —Vice Chair, New York
  • Susan L. Donegan — Secretary, Vermont

Southeastern Zone

  • Jim L. Ridling — Chair, Alabama
  • Wayne Goodwin —Vice Chair, North Carolina
  • Julie Mix McPeak — Secretary, Tennessee

Midwestern Zone

  • Mike Rothman — Chair, Minnesota
  • Bruce R. Ramge — Vice Chair, Nebraska
  • Nick Gerhart — Secretary, Iowa

Western Zone

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.