Disaster Aid Approved For More Oklahoma Counties

July 6, 2015

The federal government has approved disaster assistance for nine more Oklahoma counties following a series of severe storms.

Gov. Mary Fallin on Thursday announced that the Federal Emergency Management Agency had accepted her request for aid, raising the number of counties receiving individual assistance to 33 out of 77. Twenty eight other counties have requested help but haven’t received a response from FEMA.

The latest additions are Carter, Jefferson, Latimer, Mayes, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pushmataha, Stephens and Tulsa counties. The disaster assistance will benefit individuals and businesses that suffered damages from tornadoes, flooding and severe storms that occurred between May 5 and June 4.

Topics Oklahoma

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.