25 Texas Counties Declared Federal Disaster Areas

February 10, 2016

More than two dozen Texas counties are now eligible for federal help following deadly end-of-December blizzards and tornadoes.

President Barack Obama declared 25 counties federal disaster areas. Gov. Greg Abbott on Jan. 26 requested the disaster designation to provide expanded government assistance.

The declaration covers Bailey, Castro, Childress, Cochran, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Ellis, Hall, Hardeman, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Kaufman, Kent, King, Lamb, Lubbock, Navarro, Parmer, Rains, Red River, Rockwall, Titus and Van Zandt counties.

Storms reached West Texas on Christmas Day. Twisters and other violent weather hit North Texas the following day, claiming at least 13 lives.

Abbott’s request for individual assistance is pending for Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Franklin, Rockwall and Van Zandt counties.

Latest Comments

  • February 11, 2016 at 8:53 am
    Captain Planet says:
    Every time there is a disaster, all the military bases Texas depends on so much, NASA, all the corporate handouts, the state continues to just suck suck suck on the government... read more
  • February 11, 2016 at 8:21 am
    Texas says:
    Asks for his help a lot...This statement is humerous Captain.
  • February 10, 2016 at 1:34 pm
    Captain Planet says:
    For a state who hates President Obama as much as they do, they sure ask for his help a lot. Good thing our President is the biggest man in the room and will help them. He coul... read more
See all comments

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More News
More News Features