Denied Federal Flood Help, Oklahoma Governor Appeals

March 14, 2016

Gov. Mary Fallin is appealing the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s denial of individual assistance for residents and businesses in nine eastern Oklahoma counties hit by a winter storm.

The storm began Dec. 26 and brought ice, sleet and flooding to the region. Fallin says 122 homes were destroyed and 118 more were damaged.

FEMA approved public assistance for 41 counties in Oklahoma in addition to individual assistance in neighboring Missouri and Arkansas while denying individual assistance in Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Mayes, McCurtain, Muskogee, Ottawa, Pushmataha and Sequoyah counties.

Fallin says she doesn’t understand how neighboring states qualified while the Oklahoma counties were turned down.

An individual assistance declaration would make renters and home and business owners eligible for assistance with housing repairs, temporary housing and disaster unemployment payments.

Latest Comments

  • March 15, 2016 at 1:29 pm
    steve says:
    ah, "other peoples money". it's what every politician wants! yes, we should eliminate FEMA
See all comments

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More News
More News Features