With Central, South Texas Awash in Water Governor Issues Disaster Declaration

October 19, 2018

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has issued a State Disaster Declaration for 18 Texas counties impacted by recent severe weather and flooding that has caused widespread property damage and threatened loss of life.

The governor’s declaration comes as rain continues to fall in the central and southern parts of the state.

Counties included in the disaster declaration issued on Oct. 16 are Bastrop, Burnet, Colorado, Fayette, Hood, Jim Wells, Kerr, Kimble, La Salle, Live Oak, Llano, Mason, McMullen, Nueces, Real, San Patricio, Travis and Williamson.

With the declaration, the governor authorized the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions to aid in response efforts.

Meanwhile, the National Weather Service reports that the wet pattern will continue for central and south Texas as moisture overrides a stationary front hugging the western Gulf coast. The NWS said the heaviest rainfall will likely occur from the middle Texas coast northward to the DFW, including in the the Hill Country and south central Texas region, which has suffered extreme flooding in recent days.

Flash flood watches and flood warnings remain in effect.


Topics Texas Flood

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.