3 Louisiana Parishes Designated USDA Natural Disaster Areas

November 19, 2018

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated three Louisiana parishes as contiguous disaster areas as the result of excessive rain and flooding that occurred April 1 to June 30, 2018, according to Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M.

Twenty counties in Mississippi received a primary disaster designation and 32 received a contiguous disaster designation. The contiguous Louisiana parishes that had crop damage and losses are: Concordia, East Carroll, and Tensas.

Strain said some agriculture producers in these parishes could be eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible areas have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.