Texas Sues Five Cities Over Marijuana Amnesty Policies

February 1, 2024

Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton has launched lawsuits against the cities of Austin, San Marcos, Killeen, Elgin, and Denton for adopting amnesty and non-prosecution policies that violate Texas laws concerning marijuana possession and distribution.

The five municipalities adopted ordinances or policies instructing police not to enforce Texas drug laws concerning possession and distribution of marijuana—an illicit substance that psychologists have increasingly linked to psychosis and other negative consequences.

Voters in Austin, San Marcos, Kileen, Elgin and Denton approved in 2022 measures that would decriminalize possession of less than four ounces of marijuana.

Source: Texas Attorney General’s Office

Topics Lawsuits Texas Cannabis

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.