A bill which will require Mississippi motorists to show proof of insurance when they have a vehicle inspected, are stopped at a roadblock or buy a new automobile license plate was passed yesterday by the Senate.
The House version of the bill required the Department of Public Safety to maintain a database of insured motorists, but the Senate removed that requirement from its version of the bill.
Passage of this requirement leaves Tennessee as the only southern states without a law that requires proof of insurance according to Dean Kirby, R-Pearl, State Insurance Committee Chairman.
Current Mississippi law only requires motorists stopped for speeding or some other infraction to show proof of insurance. For failing to have insurance they face a $1,000 fine. However, if they purchase insurance before their court date, the fine is $100. Under House and Senate versions of the bill, the fine would increase to $500.
Car owners who purchase a new car tag, or renew it over the Internet or through the mail would not have to show proof of insurance, Kirby said.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.