Mississippi House Reintroduces Texting-While-Driving Ban

By | February 9, 2015

House members are moving ahead with a ban on texting and social media use while driving, after killing a similar bill in the closing moments of the 2014 legislative session.

The House voted 98-20 Friday to approve House Bill 389. It goes to the Senate for further debate.

The measure would ban drivers from writing, sending or reading text messages, emails or social media messages. It set a $25 fine until July 1, 2016 and $100 after that. Making and receiving phone calls would still be legal.

Mississippi is one of only six states without a texting ban. The state does ban texting for certain drivers under 18.

Some question whether the measure’s enforceability, but supporters say it will encourage safety in the same way as mandating seat belt use.

Topics Personal Auto Mississippi

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.