Mississippi Granted $13.3M for Storm Recovery, 11 More Counties Eligible for Aid

April 4, 2016

Gov. Phil Bryant says 11 additional counties have been added to Mississippi’s most recent disaster declaration due to the March flooding and severe storms.

In a news release, Bryant said Clarke, Forrest, Greene, Jones, Marion, Panola, Perry, Quitman, Sunflower, Tunica and Wayne counties are now eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program, which can provide temporary housing assistance, medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster or uninsured or underinsured personal property losses.

Bolivar, Coahoma and Washington counties were declared March 25. Additional counties could be added pending further damage assessments.

The state was also granted $13.3 million from the federal government for recovery from recent storms and floods.

Republican U.S. Sen. Thad Cochran announced the money April 1, saying it will be used for more than 129 cleanup, repair and flood prevention projects in 29 counties.

The money comes from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Emergency Watershed Program, which provides aid to communities affected by floods and other natural disasters.

Cochran, chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee, says recovery projects are in the following counties: Adams, Calhoun, Carroll, DeSoto, Franklin, Grenada, Greene, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Jones, Lafayette, Lamar, Lauderdale, Leflore, Lincoln, Monroe, Montgomery, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pike, Pontotoc, Tallahatchie, Tate, Warren, Wayne, Webster, Wilkinson and Yazoo.


Topics Windstorm Flood Mississippi

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.