11 South Carolina Counties to Receive Federal Aid for Hurricane Dorian Damage

October 2, 2019

President Donald Trump has issued a declaration approving specific federal assistance for South Carolina areas affected by early September’s Hurricane Dorian.

The White House on Monday ordered that federal aid be used to supplement emergency work and replacement of facilities damaged in the state’s coastal and eastern counties.

The counties affected include Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dillon, Dorchester, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper, Marion and Williamsburg.

Trump also approved a general declaration requested by Gov. Henry McMaster ahead of the storm, which skirted the state’s coastline, bringing heavy rains and wind.

McMaster evacuated South Carolina’s coast for the storm, marking the fourth evacuation order in four years. The storm made landfall in the U.S. on the North Carolina Outer Banks on Sept. 6.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.