Florida Governor Appoints 8 to Cybersecurity Task Force

October 9, 2019

Florida Governor Ron DeSantis has appointed eight individuals to Florida Cybersecurity Task Force, according to a statement from the governor’s office.

Florida Governor Ron DeSantis has appointed eight individuals to Florida Cybersecurity Task Force, according to a statement from the governor’s office.

The Florida Cybersecurity Task Force is tasked with reviewing and assessing the state’s cybersecurity infrastructure, governance and operations. The task force will analyze and identify potential improvements of state government cybersecurity programs, including individual state agencies. The task force will also prioritize the risks posed by identified threats.

The appointments are as follows:

  • Lieutenant Governor Jeanette Nuñez of Miami was named chair by DeSantis. Nunez was elected lieutenant governor of Florida in 2018. She previously served as a member of the Florida House of Representatives from 2010 to 2018 and was Speaker Pro Tempore from 2016 to 2018 during which time she chaired the Government Operations and Technology Appropriations Subcommittee.
  • Ben Miron, of Palm Beach Gardens is the senior director of information and cybersecurity at NextEra Energy. He is responsible for building and delivering security capabilities that protect NextEra Energy’s business to ensure power is safely generated and delivered to customers. Previously, Miron was deputy chief information security officer of GE Capital at General Electric until 2016 and was manager at Ernst & Young in their technology, security and risk services section from 2004 until 2009.
  • Linda Reid, of Orlando is vice president of security operations for Walt Disney World Resort. Prior to joining Disney, she worked for the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) for 18 years. During her time at the CIA, she served as an analyst and operations officer, working on issues ranging from terrorism to cyber intelligence.
  • Eman el-Sheikh of Gulf Breeze is the director of the Center for Cybersecurity at the University of West Florida (UWF), as well as a professor of computer science. She leads UWF’s efforts as the NSA/DHS National Center of Academic Excellence Regional Resource Center for the Southeast United States and received several grants to enhance cybersecurity education and training for K12, college and non-traditional students.
  • Jason Raymond of St. Augustine is the vice president and chief information security officer for GuideWell and Florida Blue. Previously, he served as vice president and general manager of Astadia, a global technology services firm. He has been a board member of the Northeastern Florida STEM2 hub, which promotes education and training in science, technology, engineering, math and medicine, since 2014.
  • Bernard Kelly Auburndale is the director of information technology and compliance at Publix, a fortune 500 company. Throughout his time with Publix, he has held leadership positions including senior system analyst, applications architect and senior information technology manager.
  • Michael Delgado of Miami is the chief information officer of PartsHawk, an automotive wholesale company. He was previously chief technology officer with Royal Caribbean Cruises, vice president of digital marketing with Celebrity Cruises and senior vice president with Systemax Technology Group.
  • Jeffrey Sturman of Hollywood is the senior vice president and chief information officer for Memorial Healthcare System. Previously, he was vice president of information technology for Memorial Health System from 2004 until 2012 and was a partner with Cumberland Consulting Group, a healthcare IT firm, from 2012 until 2018.

Source: Florida Governor’s Office

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.