New Seismic Maps Help Prepare for Future Quakes

November 29, 2000

Yesterday, the California Department of Conservation released Seismic Hazard Zone maps used to plan for safer buildings to help protect life and property in the event of an earthquake. The maps detail four areas—Thousand Oaks, Moorpark, Ontario and Mt. Baldy—that are susceptible to the secondary earthquake hazards of landslides and liquefaction.

Department of Conservation geologists use computer models as well as analyses of existing geological mapping and thousands of engineering borings to produce seismic hazard zone maps. The maps are then reviewed by local officials for accuracy.

Each map covers roughly 60 square miles and is drawn on a scale where one inch equals 2,000 feet. With the release of these official maps, property sellers must disclose to buyers if the property is in a state-mapped seismic hazard zone.

To date, 48 maps have been released, covering more than 120 cities. Mapping is an ongoing effort in Southern California in several areas, including Oxnard, Camarillo, Newbury Park, Point Mugu and Malibu Beach. Both black and white and color copies of the complete maps are available for purchase. In addition, the maps can be found on the DOC’s website,

Topics Trends

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.