CPCU Society’s Arizona Chapter Announces Scholarship Recipients

December 12, 2008

The Scholarship Committee of the Arizona Chapter of the CPCU Society (Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters) has announced the recipients of the chapter’s 2008-2009 scholarships:

Jenelle Burns, Arizona State University; Concita Cates, Phoenix College; Klayton Chew, Arizona State University; Elizabeth Dees, Arizona State University; April Diley, Northern Arizona University; and Christopher Dunker, Arizona State University.

To qualify for the scholarships, students were required to be enrolled in a full-time in an accredited institution, maintain a minimum GPA of 2.5 on a 4 point scale, and have a primary focus in insurance, business or finance. The goal of the scholarships is to provide financial support to the next generation of insurance industry leaders and to increase awareness of the careers available in the insurance industry. Each recipient is being awarded a scholarship of $500 that may be used for tuition, books and other expenses directly charged by the school.

Committee Chair Deidre Smith, speaking on behalf of committee members Lamont Boyd and Diana Dean-Spurgeon, noted, “In our second year of scholarship awards, we were able to increase the number of scholarships from four to six scholarships this year to a great group of very deserving local students. We are extremely proud to have a positive impact in the community.”

A portion of the scholarships is funded by the CPCU-Loman Education Foundation, a nonprofit organization existing to work with the CPCU Society and others in the support and encouragement of research, study, publications, career pursuit, and public and professional education in the fields of insurance, risk and risk bearing.

The students will be recognized at the chapter’s December luncheon meeting. For information, visit www.azcpcu.org.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.