New Liability Coverage Minimums in Nevada Go into Effective in July

June 21, 2018

Nevada’s new liability coverage minimums go into effect next month.

The new standards require drivers to be covered for at least $25,000 in bodily injury per person, $50,000 per crash and $20,000 for property damage per wreck.

According to the state Department of Motor Vehicles, the current minimum protection levels are among the lowest in the country at $15,000 for bodily injury, $30,000 per crash and $10,000 for property damage.

The state Legislature approved a law last year that brought forward the change.

According to the state Division of Insurance, drivers who fail to acquire the new minimums could be fined and their vehicle registrations could be canceled until they get adequate coverage.

Topics Nevada

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.